Gun Permits & Hunting Licenses

To apply for an Indiana gun permit, please follow these steps:
Step 1:
Complete a Handgun License Application online at the Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing Portal. Click here to be redirected to visit their website.

Step 2:
Schedule an appointment to submit your fingerprints electronically at a location convenient to you.  Fingerprints for gun permits are no longer done at the Sheriff's Office. Applicants must make an appointment at an IndentoGo site with a list of sites available at the website in Step 1.

Step 3:
Complete the final step in the application process at the Sheriff's Office within 90 days.  Please wait at least 48 hours after your fingerprint session has been completed before contacting the Sheriff's Office.  You should receive an email from IndentoGo that your fingerprints are attached and ready.  Contact the Sheriff's Office at 317-773-1872 to verify your application is ready for the final step in the process.  Have your application number available to facilitate the call.

Background Checks


Applicants for background checks should bring a photo identification card (driver's license) to complete the paperwork. Forms are available at the Administration Office. There is no charge for a background check.

Fees


 
  • Local Fee - Cash, Check, Money Order, or Credit Card
  • State Fee - Pay online to the State of Indiana
  • Fingerprint Fee - Pay online directly to IndentoGo
  • Refunds - Some portions of the application fee are refundable if the application is denied. The entire state fee is refundable if no license is issued. See below.

Licensing Fees

License Local Fee
Amount Refundable
State Fee
4 Year Hunting and Target
$10 $5 $5
4 Year Personal Protection
$10 $5 $30
Lifetime Hunting and Target
No Current License
$50 $30 $25
Lifetime Hunting and Target
Current Valid License
$40 $30 $20
Lifetime Personal Protection
No Current License
$50 $30 $75
Lifetime Personal Protection
Current Valid License
$40 $30 $60
Retired Law Enforcement Officer
Fee Exempt
N/A
Fee Exempt
Retired Corrections Officer
Fee Exempt
N/A Fee Exempt
Firearms Dealer
$1 Notary Fee
N/A Fee Exempt