Indiana Family & Social Services

The Family and Social Services Administration (FSSA) was established by the General Assembly in 1991 to consolidate and better integrate the delivery of human services by State government. FSSA is led by the Secretary who is appointed by the Governor and is a member of the Governor's cabinet.


Division of Family Resources

Receives applications and approves eligibility for Medicaid, Food Stamps, TANF (cash assistance) and childcare. Implementing modernized application process using internet, document imaging and extended hour call-in services. Operates in all 92 counties. Administers childcare licensing and inspection program.

Office of Medicaid Policy & Planning

Administers Medicaid programs including the managed care system for Hoosier Healthwise participants. Performs medical review of Medicaid disability claims.

Division of Disability & Rehabilitative Services

Manages the delivery of services to children and adults with developmental disabilities. Oversees the First Steps rehabilitation program for children from birth to age three.

Division of Mental Health & Addiction

Supports network of mental health care providers. Operates six psychiatric hospitals. Funds addiction prevention and treatment programs.

Division of Aging

Funds long-term care through Medicaid programs. Supports the development and utilization of alternatives to nursing home care. Coordinates and funds services through network of Area Agencies on Aging.