View All Posts

Feb 07

New year, new leadership for Council, Commissioners

Posted on February 7, 2017 at 12:13 PM by Blog Admin

The new year brought new leadership to Hamilton County’s two governing bodies: the County Commissioners and County Council.

Christine Altman was elected president of the Board of Commissioners, the county’s three-member executive branch. Mark Heirbrandt was elected vice president of the board, which manages day-to-day operations.

The seven-member County Council, meanwhile, elected Fred Glynn president and Steve Schwartz vice president. The Council is the county’s fiscal body, controlling budgets and appropriations.

Council members meet on the first Wednesday evening of each month at the Hamilton County Government & Judicial Center in downtown Noblesville. Their meetings are open to the public and also live-streamed online. Check out the full council calendar.

The Commissioners typically conduct their public meetings during business hours on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at the Government & Judicial Center, and on the last Friday of the month at the county Highway Department on 10th Street in Noblesville. Check out their calendar.

Meeting agendas for both governing bodies are published online several days beforehand, and minutes of the proceedings are available once members have reviewed and approved them.

In addition to the elected Council and Commissioners, Hamilton County also has a number of appointed boards and committees responsible for overseeing specific areas of government. Their meetings also are open to the public.