News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/18/2020 12:09:46 PM to 6/26/2020 12:43:16 PM.

News Flash

Covid-19 Operational Changes

Posted on: April 30, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Property Taxes Due Monday, May 11th


Options Available for Those Struggling to Make Payments

Property taxes are due for residents in the State of Indiana on Monday, May 11th. However, an executive order issued by Governor Eric Holcomb gives those who need extra time in making those payments an extra 60 days without penalty.

“We realize that there are some who are out of work and struggling financially right now,” says Hamilton County Treasurer Jennifer Templeton. “If you find yourself in this situation, you have a grace period that will allow you to pay your bill up to and by July 10th without penalty.”

The executive order issued on March 19th asks counties to waive penalties for delinquent non-escrow property taxes – both real and personal - paid for up to 60 days. However, “taxpayers are encouraged to make timely payments in order to ensure orderly operations of government.” 

“Property taxes are more critical now more than ever,” Templeton emphasizes. “These taxes are distributed to our police and fire departments, schools, and trustees – services that are critical to our COVID-19 recovery efforts. Paying your property taxes on time ensures no disruption to these services.”

Taxpayers have several options for making their payments including the following:

•    Pay online at Online payment fees do apply. e-Checks are $1 and credit cards are 2.5%.

•    Drop off payments at the antique drop box outside the east door of the Old Courthouse. If you’d like a receipt, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope.

•    Drop off payments at the following banks: BMO, Busey, Citizens State, Community First, Farmers, Fifth Third, First Farmers, First Merchants, Horizon, Merchants Bank of Indiana, and Star Financial.

If you have any questions about property taxes, please call the Treasurer’s Office at (317) 776-9620 and select Option 7.

Facebook Twitter Email