News Flash

Hamilton County News

Posted on: January 9, 2023

Altman Elected President of Hamilton County Commissioners

Christine Altman

Christine Altman has been elected president of the Hamilton County Commissioners. She replaces Steve Dillinger in the role. Mark Heirbrandt will serve as Vice President. Election of officers is an annual practice at the first meeting of each year.  

Altman was first elected to the Hamilton County Commissioners in 2003. She represents District 1 which includes the City of Carmel and Clay Township.  

Prior to becoming a County Commissioner, Altman served on the Hamilton County Council. As a commissioner she is actively involved in many state and local boards representing the citizens and taxpayers of the County. Altman is an active member of the Indiana Commission for Women, having previously been appointed chair of the Commission by former Governor Mike Pence. She also serves as the Hamilton County Representative of the Central Indiana Regional Transportation Authority (CIRTA) and the US31 Coalition. Altman is retiring from the Conner Prairie Board of Directors after ten years of service and is a founder and former president and dean of the Hamilton County Leadership Academy.  

Altman and her husband live in Carmel. They have four children and two grandchildren. 

Facebook Twitter Email