Must I go through the probate process?
Indiana law allows an estate with less than $50,000 of assets to bypass the probate process. A person may prepare a Small Estate Affidavit which states the following:
- 45 days have elapsed since the decedent's death
- The value of the gross probate estate does not exceed $50,000
- No application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative is pending or has been granted in any jurisdiction
- The claimant is entitled to payment or delivery of the property

The claimant may present this notarized affidavit to any institution or person holding property of the decedent, and that institution or person shall deliver the property to the claimant.

Show All Answers

1. What is Probate Court?
2. Must I go through the probate process?
3. Must I complete a tax return?
4. When must I pay the tax?
5. What is Indiana Estate Tax?